• Posted on

Cannes judges pose for media with standing members.

Members of the Cannes Film Festival jury were caught by cameras creating a poster for the 2024 event, copying the image of “Rhapsody in August” (1991) by Akira Kurosawa, as proposed by Oscar Sa. The jury consists of Pierfrancesco Favino, Nadine Labaki, Omar Sy, and Lily Gladstone, Greta Gerwig, Ibrahima Silva, Hirokazu Kore-eda, Eva Green, and Juan Antonio Bayona. The red carpet of the 77th Cannes Film Festival witnessed the sparkle of Elle Fanning, Lebanese director Nadine Labaki, Greta Gerwig, and Eva Green. Moroccan director Asmae El Moudir was also seen with the Palestinian flag while participating in the festival as a member of the “Look at Me” jury. The “Zero Distance Films” initiative showcased stories from inside the Palestinian reality by directors present in Gaza under bombardment. A large number of film and art figures at the Cannes Film Festival showed their support for Palestine in various ways, visiting the tent and watching films from “Zero Distance Films”. Some notable visitors included Dora, Algerian filmmaker Rachid Bouchareb, Palestinian filmmaker Mai Al-Masri, members of the Amman International Film Festival, Moroccan producer Lamyaa Chraibi, and others.